Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search

News & Press: Press Releases

Honoree Nominations Now Open for 2013 National Convention in Washington, D.C.

Saturday, January 12, 2013   (0 Comments)
Share |

OCA, a national organization dedicated to advancing the social, political, and economic well-being of Asian Pacific Americans (APAs), is currently seeking honoree nominations for the OCA Outstanding Achievement Award and OCA Pioneer Award to be presented at its 2013 National Convention in Washington, D.C. from July 18th to 21st, 2013 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. The two awards celebrate APA shakers and movers for their extraordinary and ground breaking contributions to their communities.

OCA's annual convention is one of the premiere events for the APA community, drawing over a thousand people from around the country for educational, cultural, and networking opportunities. To submit a nomination, please fill out the honoree submission form HERE. Honoree nominations are accepted until December 31st, 2012.


OCA Outstanding Achievement Award

The OCA Outstanding Citizen Achievement Award is OCA's highest award. The recipient is someone who is an exemplary inspiration and role model forthe community and future leader; excels in their field of endeavor/passion; has made numerous contributions that have had a positive impact on the community and on society; and shown exemplary commitment and dedication to advancing the visibility and livelihood of Asian Pacific Americans.


 Past Awardees include: Norman Mineta, Former Secretary of Transportation; Tammy Duckworth, Iraq War Veteran; George Takei, Actor; Gary Locke, Former Governor of Washington State; Michael Honda, United States Congressman; Helen Zia, Journalist.


OCA Pioneer Award

The OCA Pioneer Award is presented to an individual who has paved the way and opened the door for other Asian Pacific Americans, or has made a significant contribution to society in the field of his or her endeavor. As a result of his or her achievements, they have historically, economically, politically, socially and/or technologically, made America a better place to live.

Past Awardees include: Wataru Misaka, Former NBA Player; I.M. Pei, Architect; Anna Sui, Fashion Designer; Nancy Kwan, Actress; BD Wong, Actor; Grace Lee Boggs, Activist


Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News
OCA National Center
1322 18th St. NW
Washington, DC 20036
P: (202) 223-5500 | F: (202) 296-0540 | E: